Head of Lebanese University forbids students from enrolling in more than one academic major in hopes of “positive reform.”

The decision that was dubbed unfair by Lebanese University students, aims to “prevent the monopolization by attendees who hold several seats at the expense of other students, especially at faculties that require an entrance exam,” says Dr. Ali Rammal, Lebanese University spokesman.

Rammal also adds that this resolution will not be the last, promising even more measures in the upcoming months that will affect both professors and the student body.

“This decision issued by Lebanese University officials has no academic interpretation and is definitely uncalled for,” says former President of the Lebanese University Mr. Adnan Asayyed Hussein. “In fact, some majors are complementary to each other such as media studies and social and political sciences, for example.”

Students who are currently double majoring are urged to pick one specialization while completing 20% of the other major’s credits yearly.

Students and clubs who immediately opposed the pronouncement calling it “unfair, illegal and arbitrary,” organized a demonstration to be held on Tuesday (June 20, 2017) in front of the national university’s main offices in Mathaf at 1:30 P.M.

Youssef Youssef, a Lebanese University student majoring in journalism and Arabic literature, says that this decision directly targets the poor. “I may have my plan B and even plan C to complete my second major, but some students rely only on our national university in order to wrap-up their education.” Youssef adds that he’s enrolling in a private university in order to continue his second major, a major he’s also passionate about.

Cedric Tannous a psychology and journalism enthusiast had to wait an entire year in order to register for a second major before this “faulty” new law. “They speak as if I do not work hard every semester to pass all of my courses, as if I do not pay two tuition fees, as if I do not study twice, if not triple as hard as any other student, as if I didn’t pass my entrance exam in the first place to be here. Let us not forget that studying whatever, however, wherever, and whenever is my right and part of my freedom. I am free to study 15 majors if I please,” he says.

